Youm-e-Istehsal is being observed today to show solidarity with Kashmiris.

It has been two years since India ended the special status of Kashmir under its administration. This day is being observed at the government level in Pakistan as Kashmir Youm-e-Istehsal.

On the occasion of Kashmir Youm-e-Istehsal, a minute of silence was observed at 9 am and traffic was stopped for one minute in the federal capital Islamabad.

In a statement on the occasion, President of Pakistan Arif Alvi appealed to the international community, saying,

The message to India is that unless the atrocities on Kashmiris are stopped, they will not be talked to. The Indian government has violated the principles of independence. Pakistan will continue to liberate occupied Kashmir.

Modi government had declared occupied Jammu and Kashmir as an area of ​​Indian Union against which Kashmir Youm-e-Istehsal is being observed on both sides of the LoC.

Two years have passed since India’s dacoity over the statehood of Occupied Kashmir. Two years ago, on this day, the Modi government had abolished the special status of the Occupied Kashmir Valley and stripped it of its statehood.

How India ended the special status of Kashmir?

On August 5, 2019, crossing all the limits the Modi government abrogated Articles 35-A and 370 of India’s constitution and took away the autonomy of Jammu and Kashmir; dividing the state into two unions territories. The first part consists of Ladakh while the second part consists of Jammu and Kashmir. India has converted a UNSC declared disputed territory between Pakistan and India, into its integral part, which is in total violation of the UNSC resolutions on Kashmir.

What is Article 370? | what is Youm e Istehsal e Kashmir

Article 370 of the Indian Constitution deals with special powers in occupied Kashmir. Article 370 gives the State of Occupied Kashmir the freedom to make its constitution, uphold it, keep its flag, and in all matters except defense, foreign affairs, and communications.

The provisions and laws of the Indian Constitution which apply to other states cannot be applied to the State of Occupied Kashmir under this section.

Under Article 370 of the Indian Constitution, a citizen of any other state cannot become a citizen of Occupied Kashmir or buy a place in the Valley.

India had deployed additional troops in occupied Kashmir even before the repeal of Article 370, a major Hindu pilgrimage was canceled, schools and colleges were shut, tourists were ordered to leave, telephone and internet services were suspended and regional political leaders were placed under house arrest.

See also | Kashmiris should be allowed to decide future European MPs

The number of Indian troops in occupied Kashmir is currently around 900,000. Curfew has been imposed across the valley since the end of Kashmir’s special status, telephone and internet services have been shut down and several major newspapers have been banned from publishing.

The Indian administration turned the whole of Kashmir into a cantonment. On August 7, Kashmiri citizens protested against the Indian move, but the occupying Indian troops opened fire on unarmed Kashmiris, shelling them with pellet guns and tear gas, as a result of state repression. Several Kashmiri people have been martyred and injured.

When Pakistan referred the matter to the UNSC in August/September 2019, except China, the other veto power members even did not condemn Indian actions, although they asked India and Pakistan to resolve the Kashmir dispute through bilateral talks. The UNSC also could not agree to adopt a binding resolution to constrain India from unilaterally changing the status of the disputed Jammu and Kashmir by dividing it into two union territories and ending restrictions and genocide in Kashmir.

Read this | India is involved in sponsoring terrorists against Pakistan, Shah Mehmood 

Leave a Reply